14 BHU scholars get Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship of Rs.2 lakh per year

- Advertisement -

A total of 14 research scholars of Banaras Hindu University have been selected for the Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship.

The students who have been selected for the current cycle of PMRF are:

  1. Bandan Kumar
  2. Aindabi Maitra
  3. Kuhoo Madhav
  4. R B Ananth
  5. Raju Rai
  6. Sudipa Bhunia (Dept. of Geology)
  7. Deepika Sharma
  8. Karmdeo Prajapati
  9. Nikhil Srivastav
  10. Ritesh Tolani (Dept. of Chemistry)
  11. Ankita Gupta (Institute of Environment & Sustainable Development)
  12. Garima Kandwal (Dept. of Biochemistry)
  13. Prashasti Pandey (Dept. of Botany)
  14. Syona Tiwari (Dept. of Bioinformatics)

Scholarship amount

As part of the scheme, selected research scholars receive an attractive fellowship and a research contingency grant. The fellowship amount for the first two years is Rs 70,000 per month, followed by Rs 75,000 per month for the third year and Rs 80,000 per month in fourth and fifth years.

- Advertisement -

During the course of the fellowship, researchers are also eligible to get a research contingency grant of Rs 2 lakh per annum. The candidates are selected through a very rigorous selection process carried out at the national level.

This scheme, which is open to very few Central Universities, is aimed at fostering high quality research. Launched in the budget 2018-2019, this scheme seeks to attract the best talent into research.

- Advertisement -

Related Articles