NSAP – Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme


➡️ Join Whatsapp Group
➡️ Join Telegram Group

The scheme “Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS)” is one of the five sub-schemes of the National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP). Under IGNOAPS, citizens living Below Poverty Line and 60 years or above in age are eligible to apply. A monthly pension of ₹ 200 up to 79 years and ₹ 500 thereafter.

The Government of India, on 15th August 1995, introduced the National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP) as a fully funded Centrally Sponsored Scheme targeting the destitute, defined as any person who has little or no regular means of subsistence from his / her own source of income or through financial support from family members or other sources, to be identified by the States and UTs, with the objective of providing a basic level of financial aid. NSAP is being administered by the Ministry of Rural Development. This program is being implemented in rural areas as well as urban areas.

NSAP represents a significant step towards the fulfillment of the Directive Principles of State Policy enshrined in the Constitution of India which enjoin upon the State to undertake within its means a number of welfare measures. These are intended to secure for the citizen’s adequate means of livelihood, raise the standard of living, improve public health, provide free and compulsory education for children, etc.

The NSAP at present includes five sub-schemes as its components –

a) Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS)

b) Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS)

c) Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS)

d) National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS)

e) Annapurna Scheme

Objectives of NSAP –

1. Provides social assistance benefits to poor households in the case of death, maternity, or old age of the breadwinner.

2. Ensure minimum national standards, in addition to the benefits, the States are currently providing or might provide in the future.

3. Ensure uniform social protection to the beneficiaries across the country without interruption.

Expansion to cover all eligible BPL persons –

In 2007, the scheme was expanded to cover all eligible persons Below Poverty Line (BPL).


A monthly pension of ₹ 200 up to 79 years and ₹ 500 thereafter.


  1. The applicant should be a citizen of India.
  2. The applicant should be living Below Poverty Line.
  3. The applicant should be at least 60 years of age.